November 2018 Election

2018 Election Results for Del Mar

Current election results released from the San Diego County Registrar of Voters indicate that Terry Gaasterland and Dwight Worden will fill the two open City Council seats for Del Mar. Ballot Measure P, charter amendment, and Measure T, 941 Camino del Mar Specific Plan, both passed. And, ballot Measure R, the shoreline protection initiative, did not pass.

Starting Thursday, November 8 through Friday, November 16, the County plans to release updated election results each business day by 5 p.m. After this date, they will post updates depending on the number of ballots remaining to be counted and the closeness of any given contest. All updates will be posted on the County’s website with the final certified results posted no later than December 6.

2018 City Council Candidates

The candidate filing period for the November 2018 General Election closed on August 15, 2018. The certified City Council candidates for the 2018 General Election are:

  • Brian Fletcher
  • Terry Gaasterland
  • Dan Quirk
  • Dwight Worden

Each candidate submitted a Candidate Statement of Qualification (PDF), which provides more detailed information about the candidate and what they seek to do should they be elected. Candidates' Form 460 Financial Filings are available on the City's Candidate Filing web page.

Del Mar Polling Locations

  • Del Mar Branch Library, Community Room (vote by mail drop off location) - 1309 Camino del Mar
  • Private Residence - 1172 Cuchara Drive
  • Private Residence - 251 Ocean View Avenue
  • St. Peter's Episcopal, Parish Hall - 334 14th Street

Candidate Forum

On Thursday, September 13, 2018, the League of Women Voters hosted a Candidate Forum at the Del Mar Civic Center in the Town Hall. The event was sponsored by the Del Mar Foundation. Watch the Candidate Forum.

Resolutions Calling the 2018 Election 

On June 4, 2018, the City Council adopted the resolutions calling the November 6, 2018, General Municipal Election and consolidating the election with the County of San Diego Registrar of Voters (ROV).

Resolution 2018-29 (PDF)

Resolution 2018-30 (PDF)

Resolution 2018-31 (PDF)

Notice of Election (PDF)