Donald Mosier  
City Council
Title: Council Member
Don Mosier

Donald Mosier was first elected to City Council in 2008 after having served on the Design Review Board from 2003-2008. He and his wife Ann Feeney have lived in Del Mar since 1985 and have raised their three sons here. He was born in New York City, grew up in Indiana, attended college at Indiana University, and graduated medical school at The University of Chicago, where he obtained his Ph.D. in 1969 and his M.D. with honors in 1971. Following post-doctoral training in London and Boston, Don received a commission in the U.S. Public Health Service and fulfilled his service obligation at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD.

In 1978, he accepted academic positions at The Institute for Cancer Research and the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. In 1985, he moved to Del Mar with his wife and newborn first son to become Division Head at The Medical Biology Institute in La Jolla. In 1992, both Don and Ann moved to the Department of Immunology at The Scripps Research Institute, where both are Professors. Don has been active in AIDS research since the beginning of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in 1981, and has served on numerous national and international committees dealing with both the treatment and prevention of the virus infection.

He has been CEO of a non-profit public charity that supports HIV microbicide research since 2004, and participates in an international consortium developing new agents to prevent transmission of the AIDS virus. Don has also been involved in local biotech firms and serves as a consultant to both large and small pharmaceutical companies.

Don is a firm supporter of the Del Mar Community Plan and believes in building consensus through full citizen involvement. He welcomes the opportunity to give back to this community that has provided such a delightful place for his family for the last 29 years. In addition to serving on the city council, Don represents Del Mar on the North County Transit District Board, the SANDAG Regional Planning Commission, the SANDAG Energy Working Group, and the San Dieguito River Valley Park JPA Board.


Return to Staff Directory