Demolition of the block building that housed the iconic Bully’s North restaurant began earlier this month with crews erecting a protective barrier along the property’s frontage at 1404 Camino del Mar and removing terracotta roofing tiles. The demolition is expected to take about four weeks.
Bully’s, the longest-running restaurant in downtown Del Mar, closed in 2017 after 50 years.
Today, Los Angeles-based Hillstone Restaurant group is developing the property.
Plans approved by the Design Review Board in 2018 call for single-story, 4,700-square-foot restaurant mounted atop a two-level parking garage served by an alley to the west.
Construction is expected to last for about one year.
As the old Bully’s building is disassembled, some community members are saying goodbye while others are preserving keepsakes.
On Sunday, the Rev. Paige Blair-Hubert of St. Peter’s Episcopal Church led some parishioners in a farewell in front of the building’s heavy, wooden door. Before St. Peter’s opened on 15th Street in 1941, Episcopalians held services in the old Bully’s building.
Working with the demolition contractor, the Del Mar Historical Society has taken possession of 10 stained glass panels that were built into the restaurant’s façade. Sculptor and UC San Diego art instructor created the panels at his studio on Jimmy Durante Boulevard.
The historical society has collected many lamps, menus and art pieces and is soliciting ideas from community members for their final disposition.